Does the original IL-2 Sturmovik has Spitfire in it?

Discussion in 'IL-2 Sturmovik Pilot's Lounge' started by Chiron, May 14, 2005.

  1. Chiron

    Chiron Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Student
    Hey, guys, I am thinking about buying IL-2 Sturmovik, and I want to know if it has Spitfire in it.

    My computer is only PIII 600, with 256 RAM
     
  2. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    IL2: Forgotten Battles with the Ace Expansion Pack contains the Spit Mk. V, but remember that it's contained in the Ace Expansion Pack portion. If you buy an older copy of IL2:FB without it, you won't get the Spit.
    Once you have these , you can then download several patches from Ubi.com. In one of them (I forget which one) there is the Spit Mk. IX.
    If you decide to buy Pacific Fighters as well, you'll get the Spit Mk. VIII.

    If you're talking about the original IL2 Sturmovik, then I don't believe so. I've never owned that game, but I would think you'd be much better off buying the newer Forgotten Battles version anyway. Just my opinion.
     
  3. Chiron

    Chiron Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Student
    " I would think you'd be much better off buying the newer Forgotten Battles version anyway"

    But, it requires a min of PIII 800, and my pc can only run at 600 with 256 RAM and a video card of 32 ram, do you think it will run smoothly?
     
  4. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    No, I'm afraid not. Too bad. :confused:
     
  5. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
    That's a shame m8. In the 4.0 Patch you will get 2 maybe more new Spitfires (Vc 2 Cannon, Vc 4 Cannon). I think both will come with the Volkes Filter as well for Desert Conditions.

    It's a shame that you can't at least get a FX5200 Card. You won't be able to play it on really good settings, but you could still play it though and have loads of fun with it. Plus the FX5200 are very, very cheap to buy these day's.

    Hot Space
     
  6. dhasdell

    dhasdell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Segur de Calafell, Spain
    AEP for Forgotten Battles introduced the Spitfire V and, I think, IX.
    To run 4.01 with more variants you'll need Pacific Fighters as well.
     
  7. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
    But the Patch 4.01 does need a lot more RAM though so I would just stick to FB/AEP if I were you m8 8)

    Hot Space
     
  8. KraziKanuK

    KraziKanuK Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You really need to upgrade your 'pute to get the most out of the game. Minimum for half descent performance is 2.4Ghz/1 gig ram. A quality graphics card as well.

    A link to look at, http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=144;t=000001
     
Loading...

Share This Page