error message

Discussion in 'EAW -- European Air War' started by Paulofski, May 2, 2006.

  1. Paulofski

    Paulofski New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello to all - newbie here to this forum,

    Can any one help please - I was running European Air War on Windows98 with no problems at all, but since I have gone onto Windows2000 I get an error message when I try and launch from the desktop icon - the error is "eaw.exe is not a valid win32 application".
    I emailed into Atari and they replied that since EAW is a legacy program they are unable to help. Has any other member had this problem and if so how did they get around it.

    regds Paulofski
     
  2. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    Hi, have you patched the game with 1.1 or 1.2 game? I don't remember clearly but I thin you have to rename the patched exe to "EAW.exe", thwen it should run.

    I rememebr I had the same problem when trying to run it on Windows NT... Other than that, there's also one patch, if you're not successful with renaming the exe, I'll find it for you, just drop a line in here, okay? ;)

    Cheers,
    Pisis
     
  3. loomaluftwaffe

    loomaluftwaffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    i get that message when the file is corrupt, well im not saying i play EAW
     
  4. Tiger

    Tiger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That error is normally associated with the program being corrupt. If Pisis' suggestion fails to work, uninstall(make sure you go into the add/remove programs and do it) then re-install it.

    I don't play this game but this type of error is common to all .exe if they get corrupt.
     
  5. Twitch

    Twitch Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    historical combat aviation writer
    Location:
    City of the Angels California
    Just curious but is anyone able to run EAW with XP? The roll-back feature does NOT work for any software I've ever tried it with. It usually won't even install. I always have a 2nd HD in my machines and I guess I could install Win 95 or 98, boot from that and run it but it seems like too much crapola just to run an old sim again.
     
  6. loomaluftwaffe

    loomaluftwaffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I suggest u go get IL-2FB if u don't want to go through all that
     
  7. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    Twitch, there is a patch for that. Go to http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/forumdisplay.php?f=24 and ask them, they might help you. This also might work for Paulofski.
     
  8. Twitch

    Twitch Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    historical combat aviation writer
    Location:
    City of the Angels California
    Thanks Pisis. Yeah I got IL-2 I was just wondering if EAW still ran. Now if I get real nostalgic I could try running Lucasarts SWOTL- Secret Weapons of the Luftwaffe!
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    No problem there Twitch. :D
     
  10. Baron von Blutwurst

    Baron von Blutwurst New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Technical Illustrator
    Location:
    Arizona
    if you ever get EAW to run on Win 2000, consider yourself lucky. As far as on XP, it can be done. You need to do a clean install and before you ever run the game install the latest patch, 1.01, I believe then set compatability mode to 98 and it will work. One bad part is that if you run ATI, it wont show mission screens correctly and you wont get the horizon Fog. NVidia has no problems rendering these though as long as you use an older driver .

    Cheers
    Randy
     
  11. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    It can be run under Win2000, you just need another patch. :D
     
  12. bolillo_loco

    bolillo_loco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There isn't any real trick to getting European Air War to run on a new computer with Windows XP as the operating system. The only error I kept getting was 7217 or something like that. It turns out that newer Nvidia drivers aren't compatible with EAW. The fix is to install older 66.93 drivers. I found it by typing in my error and EAW. I played it for a week or two this past September on a one-year-old computer that uses Windows XP. I didn't even have to select compatibility mode for the game's .exe files.
     
  13. tpikdave

    tpikdave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have EAW in the box. It sits in an honored place on my bookshelf. It was the game that got me hooked on computer games and I remember buying a 3DFX Voodoo Banshee just to play it to its potential. Now THAT was a video card. It set me back about $150 in 1998 or 99. I have Windows 98se, ME , 2000 pro, 3 XP sp2, and Vista (still beta as far as I am concerned) on the little lady's laptop. I should play it again.
     
  14. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    I have been out of the EAW modding world for almost two years now, but what the EAW community did is incerdible. Entering the Matrix, it's just like it... No, really, now you can have even flying tanks and things like that, there is also a project to reconstruct the whole game into X-Wing-alike fighter sim - in space!!!!
     
  15. Njaco

    Njaco The Pop-Tart Whisperer
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    23,053
    Likes Received:
    994
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Animal Control Officer
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    Wow! I picked my copy up from a GameStop store for $10 2 years ago and haven't stopped playing it. I have all the others but seem to like EAW.
     
  16. Pobs

    Pobs New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    EAW can be played on XP without any major problems and the ati lack of fog is now fixeable using a glide emulator.. try checking the eaw wicki or check out the SimHQ forum which is still very active for EAW

    the wicki is here :

    eaw ยป home
     
  17. tpikdave

    tpikdave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Njaco

    It was the Voodoo Banshee that set me back 150. I think the game cost me $40
     
  18. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    Hey Pobs, old pal, nice to yee you here! Just yesterady, I was thinking about EAW... Where can I check the latest progress? The community still residing at Frugals?
     
  19. Pobs

    Pobs New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Pisis,

    good to hear from you old friend, I wondered where you had got to... :).. the main site for developments in EAW is SimHQ, we are moving forward pretty fast just now since we have managed to sort out the RS problem and can now build new models from scratch.. this has led to a project on world war 1 planes... and some very interesting developments...

    cheers,


    Pobs
     
  20. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    Wooooooohooooooooo!!!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page