error message

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Paulofski

Recruit
May 2, 2006
Hello to all - newbie here to this forum,

Can any one help please - I was running European Air War on Windows98 with no problems at all, but since I have gone onto Windows2000 I get an error message when I try and launch from the desktop icon - the error is "eaw.exe is not a valid win32 application".
I emailed into Atari and they replied that since EAW is a legacy program they are unable to help. Has any other member had this problem and if so how did they get around it.

regds Paulofski

Hi, have you patched the game with 1.1 or 1.2 game? I don't remember clearly but I thin you have to rename the patched exe to "EAW.exe", thwen it should run.

I rememebr I had the same problem when trying to run it on Windows NT... Other than that, there's also one patch, if you're not successful with renaming the exe, I'll find it for you, just drop a line in here, okay? ;)

Cheers,
Pisis

That error is normally associated with the program being corrupt. If Pisis' suggestion fails to work, uninstall(make sure you go into the add/remove programs and do it) then re-install it.

I don't play this game but this type of error is common to all .exe if they get corrupt.

Just curious but is anyone able to run EAW with XP? The roll-back feature does NOT work for any software I've ever tried it with. It usually won't even install. I always have a 2nd HD in my machines and I guess I could install Win 95 or 98, boot from that and run it but it seems like too much crapola just to run an old sim again.

Twitch said: