GrandFather WWII (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

leitch

Airman
Jun 10, 2006
Syracuse,NY
This maybe alittle off topic but I am trying to find out some details about 514 Sqn RAF. My Grandfather was assigned to the Sqn during WWII, flying the Lancaster BII, he was shot down and went missing for close to 2 years.

He has told us very little about his experiences, and being a veteran myself I can understand. The problem is I don't want his story to go with him, he has been ill the past year.

To my understanding from the pieces collected over the years, he did 10 missions past his tour to stay with his original skipper, he was awarded the DSO I believe.

His name Alfred Foster. I have a photo which I will try to scan. If anyone has any details about the Sqn or Alfred himself please reply, I would like to thank everyone in advance, as I am a truck driver and do not get online to often.

Here is a picture of my Grand Father.

Grandfather.jpg

Thanks Have tried the site, not much is working there anymore, most of the links are broken.

hey, this cirtainly sounds interesting do you not have any more information such as when he was shot down and where he was attacking we might be able to help more......

Sorry I do not, all he ever told me was he flew in Lancaster BII's he wasn't a pilot though. His aircraft had the 2 yellow stripes on the tail. My Grandmother said he went missing and she never knew whether he was alive or not, at the end of the war he walked in the front door.
He told me he had been on 2 daylight missions, one I believe was against V1 sites, though not certain, I have only met him once, he lives in ozz since 1946.

well the unit only operated the Mk.II from september '43 to july '44 so that narrows it down a bit, unfortunately many lancs were lost in that period........

Heres a few snippets that may help in the hunt