Identification help please...what is this?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Dente

Recruit
Jul 17, 2018
Hi. Newbie here. Have had this glass bubble for the past 20+ years. A vet once told me he believed it was a light cover from a WWII bomber. There are no attachment doohickies or other elements that would seem to allow this to "lock" into place or screw in somewhere. Metal rim feels like aluminum, globe is roughly 1/2" thick. Google search has turned up NADA. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
WWII Airplane Glass 1.JPG
WWII Airplane Glass 1.JPG WWII Airplane Glass 3.JPG WWII Airplane Glass 4.JPG WWII Airplane Glass 5.JPG WWII Airplane Glass 6.JPG

Looks like a rotating beacon dome from a large aircraft. I used to change lamps in Fokker F-27 beacons. The dome was slightly smaller than this and tinted red, and held in place with a clamp ring and rubber gasket. Lots of fun outdoors in winter, on top of a ladder, 32 feet up in the air as the plane's tail bobs in the wind.
Cheers,
Wes

Not funny, Cap'n! When your fingers are frozen numb and you can't get the clamp screw threaded and the tail bobs and you drop the screw and it bounces off the horizontal stabilizer and into a snow bank.
Cheers,
Wes

Well taa-daa that's it. Thanks! Guess I was searching for the wrong terms. Pics of others online tend to be of red ones and much smaller. Given its' size, do you think it may have been from a military craft?

Well taa-daa that's it. Thanks! Guess I was searching for the wrong terms. Pics of others online tend to be of red ones and much smaller. Given its' size, do you think it may have been from a military craft?