Is decal solution really worth it ?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Maestro

Master Sergeant
Greetings ladies and gentlemen.

As you know, I'm a modeler. Okay, not a pro... but let's say an apprentice. Like many apprentices, I used decals as told on the plan (put into water for 10 seconds, take out and wait until it goes off the sheet, blah, blah, blah...). But after seeing a few of my older model kits recently losing their decals, I started to wonder if I shouldn't use some decal solution.

So I ask you modelers, is decal solution worth it ? I mean, does it really helps decals to stay glued onto the model ?

Decalling 101, here goes!

This will not work without an airbrush, but:

When you've finished the paint scheme and fading/weathering (but NOT exhaust/gun/etc staining), varnish the aircraft using clear high-gloss acrylic varnish; Gunze diluted with a mixture of industrial alcohol and Tamiya thinners (NEVER water!) is best, as Tamiya tends to 'powder' if you're not careful. Leave the aircraft for a couple of days.

Apply the decals as usual, but if they are not Japanese made, setting solution is a useful thing to use, especially with recessed panel lines or raised detail. Don't use it with Jap made decals as you will not be able to slide them around. Aeromaster, etc, is great for this, and predictably responds really well, if you follow the instructions carefully.

When the decals are well day - another day! - run a brand-new razor blade very carefully and gently along the panel lines (if recessed) where the decals cross them. Using a fine paintbrush, run a drop of setting solution, whatever the origin of the decals, along the lines.

When it's dry again, rinse the setting solution off, and clean the model using a good brush and your airbrush as a blower to get the crap off.

Varnish it again using the same gloss varnish.