Mosquito Question

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

HRBarland

Airman
Sep 19, 2024
Hello Brain Trust,

I am a writer working on a story set in England during WW2. It is an alternative history with fantastical elements. Despite the Rule of Cool, I am trying to keep things as historical as possible where I can. The issue I have is that I had planned to have a Mosquito FB land in a field, pick up someone, and then fly out again.

My issue is that 'someone' is a troll (originally planned to be 8 feet tall and four across). Now I understand that the Mossie FB bomb bay is halved in length due to the weapons installed in the nose and there is no room for passengers outside of that bomb bay. I understand that the bomb bay is only about 2ft across and 1ft foot or so high, which is a bit smaller than I had anticipated. I thought maybe if I made the lanky rather then blocky (which causes other story problems) then the troll might squeeze her feet either side of the guns (if there's space).

Looking at a picture of the bomb bay roof of an FB, I found that there wasn't any real way for her to pull herself up either. I thought maybe, if the doors aren't fully closed she might be able to hold on if I had her punch her hands up through the just aft of the fuel tanks.

I had heard about bomb bay expansions (raising the internal ceiling of the bomb bays or bulging down), but wasn't sure how much extra space that provided.

To summarise:
1: Would it be possible for the troll punch her arms up and grab hold of something without damaging import linkages/cables/wiring/fuel lines or damaging the structural integrity of the plane?
2. Was the opening and closing of Mosquito bomb bay doors a binary thing (open or closed) or could they be partially closed? If binary, could a mechanically minded individual be able to jam the doors partially open?