New guy needs you help.

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

USCGAV8R

Recruit
Jan 3, 2007
(your help)

I got this old (2002) picture of me in a WWII aircraft taken on Pagan Island in the Northern Marianas. I have a growing interest in all aviation but dont know to much about the older aircraft. I was hopeing one of you can tell me what fighter im sitting in. My guess would be a Grumman Wildcat or Hellcat. Thanks...

ww2plane.jpg

Taking the shape of its cockpit frame, especially the windscreen ,the back part, into considration I'm conviced of that it was Mitsubishi A6M Zero Fighter.

I dont fly, I ride. Im a Flight Mechanic on the HH-65C. I think they call it a Crew Chief in other services. I cover the pilots, operate the hoist, radios, and support the swimmer.

basket.jpg

Yeap in the other services they call it a Crew Chief.

I was a UH-60L Blackhawk Crewchief for 6 years in the US Army. Just recently got out a few months ago. Got aprox. 1500 hours in this beautiful aircraft including over 650 combat hours. Pretty much did the same job as you except that we did not have a swimmer on board.

Do you guys maintain the aircraft as well in the Coast Guard. When my aircraft was not flying (when it flew, I flew) I fixed her up and kept her in tip top flying condition.

Attachments

• 123.JPG
    123.JPG
    48.3 KB · Views: 204
Oh yes, when we're not flying, we're turning wrenches. After doing the maintenance, we suit up and go on the test flight. I dont think id have it any other way.

Yeap same thing as we do. Just different title. How long have you been doing the job. I crewed for 6 years. I just got out of the military a few months ago. I got my A&P Liscense and trying to get a job turning wrenches over here for the military as a civilian.

Love flying though and will continue privatly to fly.