Newbie question

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

RabidAlien

1st Lieutenant
Apr 27, 2008
Hurst, Texas
For quite some time now, I've been reading everything I can get my hands on regarding WW2. But lately, I've been wanting to know more about WW1, as well. The wif' and I were in Barnes and Nobles bookstore last night, and I picked up a book titled "Duffy's War", but they only had one shelf (not even an entire section....just one poor shelf!) of WW1 books. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on books about WW1, from general overview histories to personal accounts, land air and sea alike. What are your top-50 book lists?

Thx in advance!

http://www.amazon.com/dp/1574886525/?tag=dcglabs-20

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The Guns of August by Barbara Tuchman is still the single best volume that I've seen on WWI, but I am far from an expert. Guns only covers up to the first 6 months of the war, though.

I agree with diddy about "The Guns of August".

My other favs are:
The Fought For The Sky by Quentin Reynolds
September Evening by Barry Diggens - About Werner Voss
The Red Knight of Germany by Floyd Gibbons - About Red Baron
Fighting Airmen: The Way of the Eagle by Maj Charles J Biddle

and of course Terror of the Autumn Skies: The True Story of Frank Luke, America's Rogue Ace of World War I by Blaine Pardoe

There is a great one about Jutland, called (I think) Jutland or something like that.

I knows it's not a true story, but I've always heard that All Quiet on the Western Front did a good job portraying the horrors of WW1.

Last edited:
Thanks, y'all! I've seen "All Quiet on the Western Front"...may need to get the movie again! I've got Sgt. York's autobiography on my Amazon wishlist, but so far the only one's for sale are collectors editions, and therefore priced in the triple digits. I'll keep searching the local used book stores. Heh.