Paint Spray Booths

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Robert Porter

Senior Master Sergeant
I am sure this topic has been done to death, I did search the forums but did not see my particular questions answered so I am going to give it a go here.

First in an effort to save some money I would like to make my own. I anticipate using a 20x20x1 furnace filter for catching particulates. Not being an engineer I need some guidance on how powerful a fan I need to suck air through say a 4 - 5 inch round duct and the filter and still be effective. Fans seem to be rated in CFM so is there a magic minimum I should be looking for?

The duct run will be about 10 foot long at maximum. (I live in a condo and will be venting out of a window.) However this could be reduced considerably if necessary.

Second I have seen in various forums and threads a lot of debate over brushless motors vs regular motors such as those used in range exhausts and bathroom vents. The issue appears to be the risk of fire/explosion when using flammable fluids especially when they have been aerosolized via an airbrush.

My own experience spraying thinner at 30psi through a box fan resulted in a momentary flamethrower so I know the risk is real, this was even outside. I just wanted the fumes as far away as I could even when wearing a respirator. Obviously not something I am looking to repeat indoors.

So with all that being said, any advice, caveats, general do's and don'ts? I am okay with building the box and any minor metal work for attaching the duct work to the fan etc.

There is a difference in airbrushing at an area of 10 square centimeters of a model or 10 square meters of a car. So...if you aren't going to paint your car with an airbrush, the cheapest way to prevent aginst the fire/explosion is :

1.Stop smoking while airbrushing.
2. Don't use the spray next to a naked flame or any incandescent material.