Painting acrylic over enamel - Mistake?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Wiking

Airman
Jun 28, 2009
USA Norway
Hello all, I'm new to airbrushing, and new to Vallejo acrylics (I have spent the past 30 years brush-painting Polly-S, now Model Master Acrylics on 1/72 scale aircraft).

Did I just make a mistake airbrushing Vallejo Acrylic (Air), over Testors flat enamel? - The failure being that the Vallejo is being lifted off the Testors enamel, by the Testors masking tape I'm using.

The Story So Far:
The model is Revell's 1/32 Ju-88A-1, in grey plastic. After masking the canopies and degreasing the plastic, wearing nitrile gloves, ready for painting the whole aircraft, I decided to give it a first coat of grey to give me a even color to the whole model (in other words - the canopy areas are clear, with RLM Grau showing through - painted on the backside - making them darker than the surrounding gray plastic, and I didn't want this darker RLM Grau color to show through the Vallero paint I'd be using on the model).

The best match to the model's grey plastic was a spray can of Testors Lt.Gull flat enamel I had handy, and I sprayed it on in two light coats. That was 48 hours ago. This morning I began applying the German colors using Vallejo Acrylic (Air), and I happily and successfully airbrushed the Hellbllau on the bottom, in two light coats, waiting maybe an hour between coats - that was 8 hours ago...

With the full underside airbrushed with Vallejo Acry Hellblaul, I began masking the edge with Testor's masking tape, "low tack", to get ready to airbrush the topside with Grün (70).
When I tested the adhesion of the masking tape, it pulled about 60% of the Vallero Hellblau off the Testors Lt.Gull flat enamel.

Ugh!

I can think of some options:
- Wait til tomorrow morning, in case the Vallejo needs to be bone dry for better adhesion.