Please help me! I have a propellor in my attic? Where is it from? (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

brechunec

Recruit
Nov 14, 2011
Hi all...

Firstly please except my apologies if this question is in the wrong part of the forum! Also, i'm new to all this.

A few years ago i was left a proppelor by my late grand father! untill now i've not really thought about it.
Would it be possible for someone to identify the aircraft it was from?

it has been fitted with a barometer!

my Nan tells me its from my grandads father! and she says its from a spitfire? but i just think she says this because its the only aircraft she knows!

I have pics.

Many thanks in advance.

Pete.
proppelor 008.jpg
proppelor 005.jpg
proppelor 003.jpg
proppelor 004.jpg
proppelor 009.jpg
proppelor 006.jpg

It might have been for early Spitfire Mk.I or Hurricane but can't see the shape of the prop baldes. ALso these placards aren't too readable. Is it possible to see better shots of these. Additionally a few details more would be welcome e.g.. its diameter.

thanks for getting back to me.

i'll measure and get more info! give me a little time

pete

More info will be good.
Here is an image of a reproduction Watts propeller as fitted to the aircraft Wurger mentioned.

watts_repro.gif

Look familiar?
Cheers
Steve

Here are some more pictures! i got it from the attic.
Height - 7ft 4in (2m 24cm)
width at centre 9 1/2 inch (24cm)

proppelor 2 011.jpg
proppelor 2 013.jpg
proppelor 2 018.jpg
proppelor 2 a 019.jpg
proppelor 2a 001.jpg
proppelor 2a 021.jpg
proppelor 2 007.jpg

7'4" is much to small for a Spitfire I'm afraid. The 'Watts' two bladed propeller on the early MkIs had a diametre of 10'8" and I doubt the prototype ever had a propeller more than three feet smaller.
Cheers
Steve