self sealing gas tanks

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

I have been rereading Peter Townsend's book about the BOB and he keeps mentioning instances where a hit in the gas tank on both Hurricanes and Spits causes the AC to catch on fire. Does anyone know for sure that the British and German AC in the BOB were equipped with self sealing gas tanks? I do know the early F4F3 DID NOT have self sealing gas tanks.

My understanding was that they started to be fitted during the Battle of France when it quickly became obvious that they were a must have addition. It was a rolling programme fitting them to existing A/C but new builds had them fitted.
I believe (bute certainly cold be wrong) that by the BOB all front line aircraft had them but it should be remembered that they had their limitations. A 20mm in the tank would be almost certain to set it alight.

I'm not an expert; but in the books I have about the Spitfire, the Spit I's didn't have
self sealing tanks. When the Spit II's came out with the Merlin XII installed the Brits
added more armour and self sealing tanks. The first one to roll of the assembly lines
was in June 1940 and operational use began August 1940 with No 611 Sqn.

This is what I found. Disclaimer is someone may find different/better facts.

Self sealing tanks according to Spitfire the History by eric Morgan and Edward Shacklady indicate fitting selfsealing on to lower fuel tank on the MK1 27/7/40 I'm still searching for more info. I assume the upper drained into lower tank and probably most of the fuel in the upper was used while taking off and climbing to altitude

It sounds like to me that self sealing tanks were not all that prevelant during the BOB and that explains the easy flaming of the Hurricanes and Spits. Churchill should at the least be censured and possibly impeached for that.

Hi Pbfoot,