Skyraider info

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

otftch

Staff Sergeant
Dec 8, 2006
Franklinton,NC
Anyone have any information on this AD Skyraider? I've never seen one in overall orange ?
Ed

Attachments

• AD-4B 15-MAY-53.jpg
    AD-4B 15-MAY-53.jpg
    41.5 KB · Views: 135
Last edited:
That overall color was typically used for target drones, although I was not aware of any Skyraiders used for that. They also used skyraiders for drone tugs and in nuclear testing. Here are some Hellcat shots of Hellcats that were target drones. These were also taken at China Lake, which is likely where the shot you posted was.

Attachments

• 079004 F6F-5K 03MAR50 PMTC NAF NP45-H-02761.jpg
    079004 F6F-5K 03MAR50 PMTC NAF NP45-H-02761.jpg
    11.7 KB · Views: 100
  • 079279 F6F-5K 03MAR50 PMTC NAF NP45-H-02761.jpg
    079279 F6F-5K 03MAR50 PMTC NAF NP45-H-02761.jpg
    12.2 KB · Views: 104
I'm no expert but saw lots of skyraiders in vietnam. the pic looks like an air show and that is a Navy plane in the backround
so my guess is that is NAS Corpus Christi, Texas where skyraider pilots were trained. Aviation Training Unit 301
training skyraiders were painted in orange and white, though i don't see any white in the pic

Wasn't China Lake a gunnery school? As the 'watermark' states 'China lake Alumni', I think the pic might have been taken there, probably in the 1950s, judging by the Phantom 1 or Banshee in the background, and I think the Skyraider is more than likely a tug.