squadron question, please help

Discussion in 'Aviation' started by Stearman444, Aug 15, 2008.

1. Stearman444

Stearman444 New Member

My Grandfather was in the USNR during WWII. I have one of his log books here so I know that he was a member of VF-85 aboard the Shangri-La ( CV-38 ) flying F6F-3 Hellcats. He later joined up with a night fighter outfit which the log book identifies as VFN-85 at which time he began flying F6F-5N's. After the war he flew R4D's, and then began flying DC-3's for Lake Central Airlines where he was the Chief Pilot in Louisville, KY and Cincinnati. In fact he was distinguished for flying Lake Central Airlines 2,000,000th operation. He retired as Captain from USAir in 1982 after years of flying Boeing 727's. Anyway, I am a college student and a pilot myself. I find my Grandfather's life to be very interesting. From beginning in Stearman's during primary training, to Hellcat's in the Pacific, to DC-3's for the early airlines, to the jet engines of the 727, I find it fascinating.

So my question is, does anyone out there have any information at all about VF-85 or VFN-85? I can find virtually no information anywhere else on the internet and im terribly interested in learning more about it. I found some squadron patches of his marked "Sky Pirates". Was VF-85 known as the Sky Pirates?

Also, after he died 4 years ago, many of his old things were sent to my father so I have had the chance to see a lot of artifacts. It seems that he was a member of the fraternity the "Quiet Birdmen". This is another topic that I can find very little information on. If anyone has any, please share.

Any help with any of this is greatly appreciated and I thank you in advance for any responses.

2. mkloby

mkloby Active Member

USMC - Capt - 7532
    I'm sorry, I don't have anything to help you out. What aircraft do you fly? Are you interested in pursuing military aviation at all?

3. Stearman444

Stearman444 New Member