To brush or air brush, that is the question. Clear coating!

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Vengeance

Airman
Jul 2, 2012
Melbourne
Hey guys,
Bit of a newbie here to modern techniques!
Just wondering what the feeling is out there about applying clear coats to a painted model.
I've sprayed my current build and feel the satin finish is a little glossy so I'm looking to apply a clear flat (Vallejo Flat Varnish) to "de-shine" the finish a little. I'm a little worried as I haven't done this before that if i brushed a light coat of said product to my build it may show up the brush strokes through the paint (its currently a "semi" gloss black). Would I be better to airbrush the varnish to avoid this problem?
What is the general consensus out there for applying clear coats to builds?
Living here in Oz, we don't have access to the magic product I read so much about "Pledge with future shine"
So what are some of the alternatives for us Aussies?
Looking to start a discussion on the subject of clear coating rather than just an answer!!
Thanks in advance guys!!

Generally, for an overall clear coat, of whatever finish, I tend to airbrush it. On small areas, I might brush it on, but this can depend on the type, and finish, of the varnish. Spraying an overall coat should provide a smooth finish, although, certainly with a gloss enamel or polyurethane varnish, using a paint brush can also achieve good results, depending on overall area.
I'm sure there's an equivalent to Future/Klear in Oz, and no doubt Vic or another of our 'upside down' people can advise here.

Theres a site on the web that clearly states what future is called in what country, let me find it and ge tback to you :) (send me a pm if I don't respond here in 2 days, that means I lost the topic :S and need a reminder.

From another downunderer: Future is called 'Pledge One Go' over here in Australia.