WW2 engines... the issue of... torque

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Ioshic

Airman
Feb 17, 2014
Hello everyone,
there is a question which I've long wanted to ask to the people who are more knowledgeable than myself,
but I've been mostly refrained from asking for fear of appearing a kind of "ignorant" in such an easy matter.
Please excuse me if my question is really stupid or very easy to reply.

But , anyway, here I am.
We don't know in real life, so I won't have to be embarassed everytime we could meet again!

I'm not a mech. engineer or similar; in fact I studied political sciences and international relations in my University times, so
my basic knowledge of engines and physics is very primitive. Amateurish we may say.

I love planes and old cars, and I basically know how en engine works, but not in detail unfortunately.
I know the difference in cars between HPs and NMs. A 2.0 liter turbo-charged engine with tons of NMs
has a totally different feeling compared to a 2.0 liter normally-aspirated one.

What I wanted to ask is: why are WW2 engines rated and discussed always by their Horsepower and never by their Torque and Nm values?
Is it because , with constant speed propellers, the engines were almost always "rotating" at the same speed, and hence, torque values
are of secondary importance in a plane?
(I tried to read about in in Wikipedia, but I admit I haven't understood much...)

And did they have an impact anyway in each different engines? On take-off? (I remember reading about the "torque effect" during take-offs)
In other flight maneuvers?

Or, am I right in understanding that Torque is the same as the "Manifold Pressure" on those engines?
If so, why it's never written as Newton-Meters?

Last edited:
Hello everyone,
there is a question which I've long wanted to ask to the people who are more knowledgeable than myself,