A6m 1:1 Static Display

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Mark O' Hara

Recruit
May 11, 2020
Greetings all!
I am honoured to be here, I have just joined and this is my first thread.
I'm originally from the UK but I now live in Asia, Bataan in the Philippines to be exact where I work as a boat builder, boat building instructor and a Lloyd's Qualified Surveyor.
The world of boat building has taught me many disciplines such as wood working, metal work and composites, and it has opened many new doors for me, the world of aviation is one of them.
It was only recently I was discussing the potential projects of an ekranoplan and a flying boat build with some Philippine nationals when the subject of WWII historical aircraft came up or the lack thereof.
Sure there were many left around after the the second world war on the many airfields between here and Clark but they have all been since removed or scrapped and the airfields returned to agriculture or development. Bataan is rich in WWII History and has many landmarks, I was asked if I could build a 1:1 WWII static display and put together a proposal for such.

With a life long deep seated interest in the Japanese Bushi-do culture and history, going back to feudal times, in my choice of aircraft there really was only one contender: the A6m Mitsubishi Zero. While all my friends and class mates were playing with their Hurricanes and Spitfires while I was growing up the A6m was the first kit model I have ever built and I have built many more since but nothing this ambitious.
The project would be good for local training and employment and the finished product would be good for education and tourism. As regards to the materials used and the detail of finish would totally depend on the budget and end-use, interior, exterior, isolated or interactive static display.