Bf-109 drag values

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

tomo pauk

Creator of Interesting Threads
Apr 3, 2008
Hi, people,
I'd like to know the Cd values for different Bf-109 models. Thanks in advance :)

Thanks. I might need a recommendation to get there :)

I had Hoerner's Fluid Dynamics Drag in one of my undergrad aero courses. He did a complete analysis on the 109G in Chapter XIV-Complete Aircraft.

Drag is an interesting subject. Are you looking for Cd0 or trying to calculate drag for all flight regimes in steady, level flight?

Hoerner states the Cd of Bf-109G (with wing bulges, fixed tailwheel, no gondolas, at 380 mph) to be as high as 0,036 - rather high figure, and the lowest figure I'm aware for 109 is as low as 0,023. Since I'm not good at the subject: maybe the analysis made prior arriving at the final result was different? The bulges and tail wheels can influence the result, but not as much as 50%?
The P-51 and Spitfire are at some 0,021-0,022, so I'm looking to arrive at the correct value, for the comparison :)

Hoerner states the Cd of Bf-109G (with wing bulges, fixed tailwheel, no gondolas, at 380 mph) to be as high as 0,036 - rather high figure, and the lowest figure I'm aware for 109 is as low as 0,023. Since I'm not good at the subject: maybe the analysis made prior arriving at the final result was different? The bulges and tail wheels can influence the result, but not as much as 50%?
The P-51 and Spitfire are at some 0,021-0,022, so I'm looking to arrive at the correct value, for the comparison :)

The 51 value for CDo is ~ .017, Spit IX/FW 190 about .022, P-38 about .025, 109G about .028-.031. The value you looked at in Hoerner is Total Drag = CDo+CDi+CDp.

When you start talking about a/c like the P-51B-1 at 440mph TAS at 29000 (or 109K-4, etc) you will also have a Cdm for mach related compressible drag.