Borrowed Time

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

krwhitlock

Recruit
Aug 9, 2006
I am looking for a pic of the b17 "borrowed time". My father-in-law was in this plane when in was shot down. I am hoping there are some files of it from before this happed on 3-17-45.
I am new to this, so I am not really sure if I am posting correctly. Thank you anyone that has info to help.

Reposting this from the other thread for continuity:

According to a quick search based on the March 17, 1945 date, I show 4 B-17s either lost or missing on that day:

B-17G-35-DL
42-107148 (384th BG, 545th BS, *Dark Angel*) MIA Mar 17, 1945 on mission to Erfurt, Germany.

B-17G-85-BO Fortress
43-38283 (95th BG, 334th BS) lost Mar 17, 1945. MACR 13111 (Pilot: Vermillion)
43-38344 (305th BG) lost Mar 17, 1945. MACR 13113. Later went to USSR

Lockheed/Vega B-17G-75-VE Fortress
44-8601 (25th BG, 652nd BS) lost at sea on a weather reconnaissance mission, Mar 17, 1945. MACR 13856 (Pilot: Estrach)

So if you can determine which unit he was in, or where he was stationed, that might narrow down the information to search through. Also, the database for serials is by no means standardized or complete, so it could be another plane that didn't list a loss date. So any additional info you can provide will certainly help.