Can anyone help me identifying this B-17? (Markings on Rudder: A - 239822- O)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Sep 29, 2023
Germany
Hey everyone,

I need some help with identifying a certain B-17 Bomber.
These pictures are from a German propaganda newsreel, No. 698 from January 20th, 1944. According to the voice-over, this bomber was shot down on January 15th, 1944, but seeing this is a Propaganda newsreel, this is not necessarily true.
The markings on the Rudder reads, as seen in the picture: A 239822 O (or maybe a 0, can't tell the difference).

If anyone can identify this airplane, and tell me to which unit it belonged and when it was shot down, I'd greatly appreciate that.

I have very little knowledge about American unit markings etc., so forgive me if my question seems stupid.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Screenshot 2023-09-28 185032.jpg
Screenshot 2023-09-28 184944.jpg

It's the Boeing B-17G-1-VE s/n 42-39822 belonged to the 333rd Bomb Squadron of the 94th Bomb Group.

Delivered Long Beach 11/9/43; Scott 29/9/43; Assigned 333BS/94BG Rougham 8/10/43; Missing in Action Brunswick 11/1/44 with Don Sharps, Co-pilot: Tom Sheedy, Navigator: Fred Irwin, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Ed Deutsch, Radio Operator: Gus Lobone, Ball turret gunner: John Fees, Waist gunner: Bill Nall,Tail gunner: Joe Miksic (8 Prisoner of War); Bombardier: Lou Nargi, Waist gunner: Ken Majeska (2 Killed in Action); enemy aircraft, crash landed near Holsten, three miles N of Rheine, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 1887.