Creating/Animating 3D CAD version of a WWII Engine

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

kiresays

Recruit
Oct 11, 2011
Hi all, I'm a mechanical engineering student at Georgia Tech in Atlanta, Georgia. At GT we work with Autocad for 2D CAD and a primarily education software AutoDesk Inventor for 3D CAD. However, in industry SolidWorks is the primary 3D CAD software. It seems silly that we don't use it instead, but it is what it is. The theories behind the software are very similar, but I would like to become much more familiar with it.

Additionally, I'm taking a class on internal combustion engines and find it fairly fascinating. AND, I'm in my third semester of german. Alongside all of those other things, I've always been very interested in WWII, particularly the aircraft.

So basically, I searched all of those things and wound up at this website!

What I'm looking for: Schematics of a WWII era engine. When I say schematics, I'm looking for something very thorough, with all necessary dimensions to put it into 3D cad, and pictures of the parts themselves for reference. While I would love to do the merlin 60 series (my professor raves about it constantly) or any german engine, the entirety of the project is more important. So if you have some random engine schematics (or know where I could find them!), I will gladly, gladly take them.

My plan: Take said schematic, create 3D parts of them, assemble them in an assembly drawing, and then animate the whole engine. Basically create a virtual version of a working WWII engine. In this process I'll be teaching myself SolidWorks.

My Time-Frame: Probably long! This project would be secondary to a lot of things, including my fairly large coursework, my job search, and rugby. But I need to learn solidworks, and I know I'll do a better job at it if I'm doing something I'm interested in.