Getting back into the hobby

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

pinehilljoe

Senior Airman
May 1, 2016
I was an avid builder up through college. Now 30 years later, I'd like to get back into the hobby. Is Monogram still a big kit producer? I like 1/48, and in the 70s Monogram was king. When I go to the Squadron Shop web page, Monogram doesnt seem like a big kit producer? What are 1/48 kits makers of choice?

Welcome back, Mate. There is a couple of manufacturers offering kits. Also these of the Monogram still can be found but as the second hand sets. I would suggest checking on the E-Bay for instance. Very good models can be of Hasegawa, Tamiya, the Japanese producers. Also the Chinese Trumpeter. Here in the Europe nice kits are offered by the Eduard, Zvezda or ICM. What is more a couple of the well-known, older firms like the Italeri, Revell or Airfix are still trading. All depends on what you want or just what you can afford,

Last edited:
Airfix is also producing NEW 1/48 kits of very good quality.

Welcome back to the hobby - you are like many of us in that regard. Perhaps if you let us know the style of modeling you like and types of aircraft you are considering for your proje0tcs, we can help you out with some recommendations

#1 decide on the model you wish to build. Since it has bee awhile I'd start with a simpler kit rather than than some large complicated kit. This model can be your test model. A chance for you to try various modeling techniques and products. Spend some time perusing the available kits on Ebay. Look at price and SHIPPING charges. Decide on how much you want to accessorize the basic kit with special decals, metal scale guns/cannons, resin special parts, etc. The resin accessories are sometimes only for certain kits so don't buy a Revell (for example) kit and then find a really neat resin part you'd like to add and it only fits the Hasagawa kits.