Grumman F4F: Wing Question

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

I am currently studying the F4F wing structure and noticed that the wing ribs are not perpendicular to the wing chord as you would normally expect. Certainly, this is not something that I have come across before. I had previously studied the F6F and although another of the Grumman 'cats' the wing ribs are perpendicular to the chord as expected.
I am at a loss trying to fathom why Grumman designed the F4F wings in this manner as there does not appear to be any performance advantage or manufacturing benefit in doing so.
I wonder if anyone has any idea why?
This drawing shows how the rib is actually perpendicular to the ground (in-situ) and not the wing chord.

2018-09-06_02-53-20.png

Last edited by a moderator:
I am currently studying the F4F wing structure and noticed that the wing ribs are not perpendicular to the wing chord as you would normally expect. Certainly, this is not something that I have come across before. I had previously studied the F6F and although another of the Grumman 'cats' the wing ribs are perpendicular to the chord as expected.
I am at a loss trying to fathom why Grumman designed the F4F wings in this manner as there does not appear to be any performance advantage or manufacturing benefit in doing so.
I wonder if anyone has any idea why?
This drawing shows how the rib is actually perpendicular to the ground (in-situ) and not the wing chord.

View attachment 508754
The F4F had wings that folded at an angle that caused them to lay flat along the fuselage. The detail in the drawing is showing the hinge design that causes that to happen. Quite an interesting design.
A19610122000cp36.jpg

Hi Hugh,