ID this propeller, please!

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

NNAM

Airman
Jan 10, 2021
I am a volunteer researcher at the National Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola, Fl. We recently had an inquiry about a propeller root, cut in two to make bookends, and presented to Governor Joseph B. Poindexter, Territory of Hawaii. Gov. Poindexter served in Hawaii from 1934 through 1942.
I have tried to find the military contract number, drawing number, and other markings on this root, and have come up empty. Can you assist or point me in the right direction? I would like to know what type of aircraft this propeller was used on.
I appreciate your assistance.
prop1.jpg

prop 2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I have looked for a possible use for that part number and came up with nothing. The part # is similar to other Ground adjustable blades that the US Navy used. But what I see as strange is the marking of "10'6"" after the model/part #. Most other ground adjustable blades had a maximum diameter of 120 inches/10 feet. I asked my father about this and he suggested that some airships also used ground adjustable propellers, but that larger diameter was not an issue for ground clearance as it was on a nose of an aircraft. Example the Boeing Stearman used an 102 inch diameter propeller. For 10 foot 6 inch is what a DC-3 used for comparison for size.
Do you have any images of the shank from the side as that would help to determine a possible use.

Here are the side photos, which somehow disappeared from the above.

Attachments

• pro 3.jpg
    pro 3.jpg
    63.1 KB · Views: 48
  • pro4.jpg
    pro4.jpg
    67.3 KB · Views: 47