Info on Fighter Tactics Pacific/ WWII??

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

I'm new to the board.

I'm an active duty Army Officer. Writing a paper on evolution of fighter tactics specifically in the Pacific during WWII.

Any information/insights/opinions would be greatly appreciated.

I'll be happy to cite you in my work.

Thanks!

Wow you are lucky to be able to use the net. When I was at school you had to use books and you may only quote not copy the words the rest of the paper must be in your own words.

Here you will find more stuff over Europe than the Pacific.

Lundstrom's First Team pair deals a bit with PAC Theater fighter tactics as they evolved during the first year of the war. It's mainly a historical account of the USN & USMC VF and VMF (Navy and Marine Fighter) squadrons, pilots and associated ships and operations during that period, but Lundstrom, not a aviator or an expert on tactics by any means, does touch on the topic with three appendices devoted to fighter tactical considerations (with diagrams) for both US and IJN pilots. Robert L. Shaw's Fighter Combat: Tactics and Maneuvering, mainly an account of more current fighter combat does give some reference to historical matters in no real systematic way by sprinkling anecdotes throughout his long and detailed treatise on the subject. Shaw was a USN VF pilot and aero engineer but not a particularly effective historian giving short to no homage to his own USN fighter combat heritage.

Last edited: