Just got IL2 Sturmovik... Need help...

Discussion in 'IL-2 Sturmovik Pilot's Lounge' started by lesofprimus, Jul 17, 2005.

  1. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Just bought Il2 Sturmovik for $8.00 My computer scuks bad, so I have to have all the settings on low...

    I need some help with a couple things... First, where are the screenshots I take stored??? Secondly, where can I get some new planes to fly??? Skins??? Missions???

    That Il2 site of crazys is down... And I do not have FB or any other mod, just the basic game...

    Already have 28 kills in 5 missions in a Bf-109F... The ground attack stuff is alot harder cause the computer gets really bogged down...
     
  2. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    I don't have the old Il2 game, but if it's anything like Il2:FB then the screenshots should appear as TGA files right in the main folder. Just open the game folder, wherever you installed it, and they should be right there. You then just need to edit them to jpeg or bmp files in MS Paint.

    As for skins and missions, I have no idea. Sorry. Most of the sites I used to go to are down.
     
  3. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Ok thx. I found em.... Hopefully someone can help me on the skins...

    Skins are new planes correct? How do u install a new skin?? where do u put the file?
     
  4. cheddar cheese

    cheddar cheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    20,349
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    WSM, England
    I just press print screen then, pause the game and press the windows key to minimize it. Then I go to paint and paste it straight from there...
     
  5. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    I found em... But what about skins CC??? I want new aircraft to try and fly.
     
  6. cheddar cheese

    cheddar cheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    20,349
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    WSM, England
    Like NS said, the sites I used to use are all down. You know skins arent actually new aircraft, just paintschemes yeah?
     
  7. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    If I remember right, in the old Il2 game you could only change your aircraft's skin in multiplayer. In Il2:FB you can change them anytime. Single, multi, campaign, whatever.
     
  8. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Damn, I dont wanna hear that.... Theres no way my POS comp can play this game online...
     
  9. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
    Skins and a few Missions m8:

    http://www.netwings.org/library/IL2_Sturmovik/

    http://www.checksix-fr.com/

    The below site is for Il-2 Il-2FB/AEP/PF so make sure you have the right planes m8:

    http://www.flying-legends.net/php/downloads/downloads.php?cat_id=17

    http://www.flugzeugwerk.net/

    http://www.cptfarrels.com/

    Here you'll have patches that will update your game (if you haven't got them already), including new planes:

    http://www.3dgamers.com/games/il2sturmovik/downloads/

    Install: 1.1a to 1.2.

    As for installing skins do this: download whatever skin you wish, open it with Winzip, then press extract, save to your C: Drive under whatever name, then go to your C: Drive (Start/My Computer if ya don't know) and open you file there. Save the Open Program Files/Ubi Soft/Il-2/Paint Schemes/and the name folder of your aircraft, then Paste it in there.

    Hot Space
     
  10. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    HS comes through again! :cool:
     
  11. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Thx a million dude... I really appreciate it.....
     
  12. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
    Anytime m8 8)

    Need anymore help just give us a shout ;)

    Hot Space
     
  13. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
    This might also help ya m8:

    Here are a few memory performance tweaks:

    These Settings will fine tune your systems memory management - at least 256MB of ram recommended:

    Go to start\run\regedit - and then to the following key
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management

    1. DisablePagingExecutive
    - double click it and in the decimal put a 1
    - this allows XP to keep data in memory now instead of paging sections of ram to harddrive yields faster performance.

    2. LargeSystemCache
    - double click it and change the decimal to 1
    - this allows XP Kernel to Run in memory improves system performance alot

    3. create a new dword and name it IOPageLockLimit
    - double click it and set the value in hex - 4000 if you have 128MB of ram or set it to 10000 if you have 256MB or set it to 40000 if you have more than 512MB of ram
    - this tweak will speed up your diskcache

    For Users with 256 MB RAM or more this tweak will boost their Windows- and Game-Performance.
    What it does: It tells Windows not to use any Swap File until there is really no more free RAM left.

    Open the System Configuration Utility by typing msconfig.exe in the RUN command. There in your System.ini you have to add "ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1" under the 386enh section.

    Restart your Windows and enjoy better Game performance
    ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1


    and...

    http://arstechnica.com/guides/tweaks/sgp-tweaks.ars/2


    There is also something from the H.G Forum that also might help ya, but the Forums are down, but I'll post it ASAP m8.

    Hot Space
     
  14. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Still not gettin the skins figured out...

    Heres what I did...
    Downloaded zip file, vp_bf109ghartmann.zip, to desktop...
    Opened with Winzip
    Opened zip file and extracted to desktop...
    4 files now on desktop
    vp_Bf109G14_hartmann.BMP
    vp_Bf109G6_hartmann_nm.BMP
    vp_Bf109G14_hartmann_nm.BMP
    vp_Bf109G6_hartmann.BMP

    Inside folder IL2 Sturmovik
    Folder Paint Schemes
    Folder Skins

    Do I make a folder inside skins directory??? What name?? Bf-109G14 Hartmann??

    Or do I overwrite an existing folder??

    Can these planes/skins be flown single player and NOT online??? My computer wont play this game online.. Too slow...

    Will try ur speed up ideas later on...
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
    Just open any 109 Folder m8 (Not the E Model ) though and paste in there. You don't have the 109-G14 in Il-2 (I think, can't remember as I haven't played it for a few year's), but you can add any 109 Skin to any 109 Folder, although like I say it looks strange on an E Model.

    As for Single Player and Online you can choose whatever skin is in thats plane folder. When you choose the plane you wish you will see a button next to it on the right, press that and you can choose you skins m8 8) As for playing Online you should having on your Desktop and Icon called UBI.com. If you open that it should once you've added your name take you to UBI's Online Server where they still play: IL-2 :D

    Also what kind of Graphics Card do you have? Sound Card? Version of Direct X? And how much RAM have you got m8?

    btw Where are your E Model 109 Folder's m8? You should have the 109E in the game.

    Hot Space
     
  16. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Nvidia graphics Riva TNT Model 64
    AMD K-7 processor
    128M Ram
    On board sound
    Crap ass computer

    Dont know where the E model bf is... never deleted anything...

    Still trying to figure it all out here... Very frustrating, as what u say above doesnt seem to work... Will try ur new directions...
     
  17. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
  18. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    I am not patched up... I cannot get the files to download from the different servers... Just sits there and doesnt download after u click save...
    Will keep trying...

    I have found the choose skin area... It seems to work now, but only in multiplayer, and i can only create my own server and fly by myself... When I click on join server, none pop up... Due to having no patches installed???

    Tried 3 times when I create my own, and no one joined up, for obvious reasons (no patch)...

    There is no way to add new planes and different skins when flying in career mode, or simple create mission??? I dont want to fly multiplayer, just pilot career...
     
  19. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Theres 4 patches on that site u provided...

    Sep 02, 2002 28.4 MB il2upgrade_1.2.exe Retail v1.1 -> v1.2 patch

    Sep 12, 2002 38.1 MB il2upgrade_1.2ov.exe Retail v1.1 -> v1.2ov patch

    Jun 10, 2002 30.6 MB il2upgrade_1.1b.exe Retail v1.04x -> v1.1 patch

    Jun 10, 2002 73.4 MB il2upgrade_1.1a.exe Retail v1.0x -> v1.1 patch

    I am now downloading 1.1a... Do i need to do all 4 patches, or just the 2...

    1.1a and 1.2????
     
  20. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    OK, i patched in the 2 patches and have a bunch o new planes... Still seems u cant skin in career mode... OH well...

    Is that as far as i can patch is the 1.2?
     
Loading...

Share This Page