Making of a dog fight simulation.. (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

mikeb

Airman
Feb 22, 2012
Amsterdam
www.dhanimations.com
I'm a licensed aircraft engineer, who now works in 3d animation.

I coded a flight sim a sail boat simulator in my 3d program a few years ago. I found they went down much better than hand animated versions. Looking more authentic.

Recently i made a bunch of 3D aircraft for a huge stills based project. Now i'm in the mood for something more complicated, animated. An automated dogfight simulator is where i've turned my guns. Starting with fighters then adding bombers later.

I started by putting on paper a list of questions criteria a fighter pilot would constantly be thinking. Then the list of his responses. I used to program computer games so i have a fair understanding of simulating AI.

Over the next few weeks i'm sure i'll have some questions as to comparisons feel of the whole project. Any advice would be great.

Here is my very first test, just the basic flight model tested against itself (with proxy models, the attached image shows my spitfire i'll be adding when the code is a little further developed). The sim is still a bit bumpy with certain variables like speed rudder control still turned off. Head breaking stuff but the first hurdle is passed.

www.doghouseanimations.com/c4d dogfight 01.mov

p.s.Whats nice is that the simulation naturally puts both the planes in a flat scissors maneuver towards the end..

Attachments

• c4d spitfire.jpg
    c4d spitfire.jpg
    27.5 KB · Views: 231
So i've been busy with all kinds of things, working many aspects of this project at once. Not least being the rekindling of the way to make clouds thread thats been going on on cgtalk..