Midway movie trailer

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Thorlifter

Captain
Jun 10, 2004
Knoxville, TN
Just don't know how I feel about this yet. Being from the director of Independence Day, I think the CGI will be more Hollywood than reality.

Sorry, thought this was a new trailer but I see now it's called "Dauntless" and I think this has been posted somewhere already. Admin's can delete this thread if you want.

I'm definitely not a fan of Emmerich's movies in general; Stargate and Independence Day were fun, but he's become too fascinated by and reliant on spectacle. It shows in this trailer. As a history buff in general and especially WWII aviation, it's frustrating to see it treated superficially and with video-game realism. It's what's made me so protective of the WWII aviation story I've been researching and writing about for thirty years, and frustrated at the focus on the same events when so many other stories are worthy. (You can see the one I've been researching and writing about at the link.)

But—even so, we know virtually no one under the age of thirty-five or so knows much or anything about World War II, much less Midway, and if this can get them in the seats and show them what it meant to dive a Dauntless or Devastator on a carrier, and hopefully, without too much excess—it is Emmerich, after all—the importance of Midway to the war, I think that's a good thing.

http://zeamerseagerbeavers.com/

I wouldn't mind Emmerich making a movie which centers around FAA operations in the North Sea, especially Stringbag, Albacore, and Barracuda operations.