P61 questions (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

olbrat

Airman
Mar 19, 2008
I was curious about the handling characteristics of the P61. I know it was used effectively as a night fighting aircraft. I also enjoyed assembling the model. It has an interesting design.

Was it designed to be used against specific aircraft (other than whatever was in it's way)?

Was it easy/enjoyable to fly?

Did it ever have to "dogfight"?

Was it ever used in daylight? If so, in what capacity?

I'm sorry if this is "old hash", but I'm still a newbie here.

Thanks.

I'll tell you what I know (from a book I have about the plane).

The design was based watching the use of British nightfighters and incorporating their radar (which was later copied and improved upon by MIT). It was the only night fighter used by any force in WWII that was designed as such from the beginning.

For a large plane, it was maneuverable because of the use of spoilers. I haven't read about any dogfights per se, it usually crept upon its victim and either got them or the prey slipped away.

It wasn't a fast plane (360 mph; except for the P61C at 420 mph which didn't see service in time) so it would be somewhat vulnerable in daylight. A P-61 was able to shoot down two FW190s in the dawn hours but that is one of the few kills made during daylight. A P-61 was used in the Philippines in "The Great Raid" when US forces liberated a Japanese POW camp. The plane made low flight maneuvers over the camp to distract attention away from the camp guards.

Hi,