question for a story (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

fuego

Recruit
Mar 25, 2004
Hi all, I'm a writer in San diego and i have a question for an article i'm doing.

Were there any planes in WWII that could have flown all the way from California to Japan. Or did they have to stop in hawaii first?

Any help is much appreciated.

Don't quote me, but I'm pretty sure that most planes couldn't make it even from Hawaii, and only a rare few could, but certainly couldn't make the return trip.

But then, didn't the bombers of the Doolittle raid have to dump their guns and replace them with broomsticks to save on weight? And they were taking off from a carrier much closer to Japan than Hawaii. They had to (crash)land in China

Also, I've moved this to the Aircraft Requests section. It fits that criteria a bit better :)

The B-29 with additional ferry tanks could probably get to Okinawa which is a part of Japan. I think the crew would be due a promotion as the the B-29's engines were not 100% reliable. The engines had oil consumption problems and it would have be an interesting test. After the War when the WB-50's came out they often had "engine" problems and had to land in Hawaii to get these "problems" fixed before taking off and landing at Wake Island for refueling on their way to Japan. WB-50's were stationed out of Yokota AB Japan after the war and I have some color photos of the planes at Yokota in the late 1950's oh the smell of 115/145 octane aviation gas

:shock: Woo, Woo!!!! That reminds me! I just got back from the Smokey Mountains, they've got a Warbirds museum that I went to....and they have Doolittle's medal of honor!!!! I took pictures!! I'll scan them!!!! I'll host them!!!! I'll post them!!!!! Weeeee!!!!! Also got plenty of other pictures of WWII birds!!!! I can't believe I forgot about them!!!!

the lancaster kicks ass said: