Spitfire exhaust stacks

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

helmitsmit

Airman 1st Class
Mar 9, 2005
Swansea
Why did they change from a 6 exhaust to a 12 exhaust package? Didn't the 6 exhaust provide thrust that is why they put it on the Mk1

More power I'd guess - anything that obstructs the exhaust gases will sap the power.

There are (obviously) 12 exhaust ports on the engine, so having 6 exhausts means joined pipes, and a less 'clean' gas flow...

*this is just a theory* :)

Looking at the early versions of Spits I always get an impression that they are so light,simply lovely,on the contrary to the later ones.People in the past made many things in good taste. Maybe six pipes look better than twelve.

I have done an experiment with a pic of Mk.IIa fitted with an exhaust of Mk.IXc.Look at the photos.The first one is authentic.The second pic looks a bit strage for me, doesn't it.Perhaps I'm not an artist but there is something a little wrong.As far as the flying only Mk.IIa with twelve exhaust is concerned,I think that there is no matter for many people if the spit has 6 or 12 pipes.Personally,it is ridiculous that there is no possibility today to restore an aircraft precisely.But I've seen so many strange an funny things about planes that I'm not surprised.Have You ever seen the last movie about Pearl Harbour ?.One of the main characters was fighting as a member The American Eagle unit during BOB.Spitfires, in the film, were coded with RF letters.As I know the code belonged to The Polish 303 squadron equipped with Hurricanes in that time.Or Spit Mk.IX with a earth brown-dark green camo pretending a polish MkVb one.Strange,isn't it.

Spitfire Mk.IIa
source unknown.

Attachments

• Spitfire_MkIIa.jpg
    Spitfire_MkIIa.jpg
    36.5 KB · Views: 565
  • Spitfire_MkIIa_exhaust1.jpg
    Spitfire_MkIIa_exhaust1.jpg
    49.8 KB · Views: 481