Spitfire XIV camo colours

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Angels one-five

Airman 1st Class
Jun 29, 2009
Salisbury, UK
I'm just beginning an Academy 1/48 Spitfire XIVe and intend finishing it as a SEAC aircraft, serial number RN218 (MS-F) of 273 Sqn. The instruction sheet suggests ocean grey and dark green (standard day fighter camo) however, I have found another reference on The Spitfire Site which suggests dark earth and dark green... I know both were used in SE Asia; anyone know which option would be correct for this particular airframe? I have found a B&W image of the actual aircraft, but that's not much help...!

This can be a tricky area with the MkXIV in SEAC, as both schemes were used. It is possibly dependant on where the aircraft actually originated, as some were shipped direct from European squadron service, still in their Temperate scheme, whilst others were factory finished, or repainted with Dark Earth in Theatre. As most arrived near the end of hostilities, it's likely that the ones in Green/Grey were not re-painted, as there would not be such a need to alter the camouflage to suit the area of operations.
For many years, various profiles of 'Ginger' Lacey's MkXIV have shown both schemes! The Osprey book 'Late Marque Spitfire Aces' states that their profile of his machine, shown in Ocean Grey/Dark Green is correct, based on 'new photographic evidence' at the time the book was produced, about ten years ago.The B&W pics published in the book are inconclusive in my opinion.
However, in the early 1980's, I had the priviledge of meeting and talking with 'Ginger' on a few occassions, and made a point of asking him about this MkXIV. He told me it was Green and Brown! In fact, I very nearly used this scheme on the 1/32nd scale MkXIV I'm currently working on, but as it's built as an early 'C' version, I went for a UK based kite.