What do cooling fans do? (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

cherry blossom

Senior Airman
Apr 23, 2007
Some WW2 radial engines, such as the BMW 801, had a fan to "assist" in cooling. Do these actually suck in extra air in flight or do they simply speed up the flow of the same quantity of air through the engine? If the quantity of air is the same, how does the fan assist the cooling?

I'm not an expert, but I'd say they suck in extra air to an extent, like a jet engine, but more probably the function is to 'chop up' the air a bit (also like the multi rows of turbine blades in a jet engine) to provide a smoother airflow to the engine, making for a more efficient cooling process.
The guys who didn't have defence cuts put an end to their Air Force training (*ahem*...) will be able to tell you for sure...

When they originally tried to stuff the radial engine into the narrow profile cowl, they encountered overheating problems. So short of expanding the cowl diameter (and thus introducing more drag) it was decided that a fan would increase airflow. This is especially important at idle/taxi speeds, as radial engines are notorious for overheating if not well monitored. This same technique was copied by the Russians and Japanese on some of their fighters.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but in the case of the BMW engined FW-190 was the cooling fan not associated with a nose cowling oil cooler that consisted of lots of tubing. In such an implementation surely the fan's role is to direct a CONSTANT/CONSISTENT flow of cool air over the oil radiator regardless of aircraft's speed or attitude.

MM