Difference between a Bf-109E and Bf-109F ? (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Maestro

Master Sergeant
Hi.

As you may already know, I bought the Airfix 1/48 Bf-109F kit and, like I'm not an expert of German planes, I would like to know if there is any visible difference between the Bf-109E and Bf-109F.

If there is no visible difference, I may try to track down some ace decals (because it seems that German 109 aces were all flying the E or G variant) and build a famous plane... Was Galland flying 109s or 190s ?

Maestro the E and F had very different nose profiles and the E had square wing tips whereas the F's were rounded.
also if i remember correctly the E also had bracing struts under the horizontal stabilisers that were not on the F

i'm sure there are more differances than those i've mentioned and would find some pics ETC for you but i'm stuck at work, but i'm sure a real expert will oblige before to long and correct any mistakes i've made.

hope this helps

Galland was flying Bf 109s and Me 262s.
Bf 109F was the version between 109E and 109G and most of German aces were flying all those versions. Many victories on Bf 109F claimed H-J Marseille for example.

(Been away for a LONG time... Hello again!)

Rochie is right.

The nose profiles were completely different, with the E having a marked angle down from the MG "furrows" towards the spinner; The F had a bigger spinner with a more aerodynamic, gentle line. The F's spinner was bigger, and the single 20mm cannon fired through it. This had been tried but deleted on the E model because of trouble from the engine vibrations making the cannon jam.

The wings were equally completely different; the E had wing armament - MGs for the E-1, 20mm cannon for the E-3, 4 and 7 types. The F did not. The E had square wingtips, while the F had cleanly rounded wingtips.

And the F did not have tailplane braces, either.