Former Nazi SS member convicted of Dutch murders

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Ouch. Another sticky one. We're gonna have a lot of folks screaming for clemency due to his age and infirmities. Personally, the guy admitted to the crimes, then fled the scene back to Germany. Put him in a minimum-security facility, at the very least. He did the crime, he needs to do the time.

while im no expert. it seems he was a regular soldier defending his country . how many civilians were killed during the war. should we arrest all the bomber pilots who dropped there bombs in the "wrong " places also?I appoligize if i offended anyone with my comment it is not my intension.

While I'm no expert. it seems he was a regular soldier defending his country. How many civilians were killed during the war? Should we arrest all the bomber pilots who dropped their bombs in the wrong place also? I apologise if I offended anyone with my comment, it is not my intention.
Technically
I don't think the Waffen SS were regarded as regular soldiers, otherwise they'd be the Wehrmacht.
Secondly, you'll find there's a difference between collateral damage (inherent in strategic bombing and certainly with WWII technology) and putting a gun to the head of a bicycle shop owner and in full possession of your faculties, pulling the trigger.

Should we arrest the civilian vigilante parties who summarily executed downed bomber crews?

Guy came from the Russian Front to Holland. Kinda of like going from the worst part of the Nazi Empire to the quietest. At least in comparison.