Hello from Issaquah, Washington State, USA! (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Hi everybody, nice to be a new member. I am an old retired fighter pilot born in Venezuela. I got my pilot wings in the US, went to the UK and flew Jet Provosts at RAF Little Rissington in the beautiful Cotswolds. Later also flew Mirage IIIs in France at Dijon and Colmar FAF bases. In Venezuela I flew many types, from T-34s and T-6s to B-25 Mitchells, deHavilland Vampire and Venom, F-86F and F-86K Sabres, Northrop F-5s and a few more. I emigrated to the USA in 1979 and became a US citizen in 1985.

My favorite WW2 fighter plane is the Lockheed P-38J Lightning. I would be even more of a fan if American logistics and priorities in WW2 would have allowed to equip it with 2 Rolls-Royce Merlins. What a plane that would be! For those interested I wrote a review in Amazon on Warren Bodie's book about the P-38.

I also enjoy reading about the naval war in WW1 between the British and German fleets. My favorite book on this is Robert K. Massie's Castles of Steel.

I am very opinionated about American politics and you can see a glimpse of that in my blog on the left.

Last edited:
Thanks. I have read the rules and I don't intend to talk about politics here. I am also very opinionated in philosophy because I studied both in college and pursuit both as hobbies, but I certainly don't want to bother anybody here with that either. I was just telling everybody who I am.

Welcome to the site.

BTW ... the link to your blog issued the warning about not safe connection because of incorrect configuration there. The Firefox blocked the loading of the site. Please set your blog soft properly or remove the link from your profile until it is done.

For some reason my Mirage family avatar appears vertically compressed, and for some other reason I can't upload the other Mirage picture I want to have as my avatar.