Hobby Boss F4U-4 Corsair, Custom. 1:72 Scale.

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

[SC] Arachnicus

Senior Airman
May 1, 2012
West Chester OH
I did my best with this one. As most of you know I am new at this so there are plenty of imperfections, but I did take my time. The "SC" is a squadron I am in on FB where a large group of us play Skies of Glory (WW2), Rise of Glory (WW1), and Sky Gamblers Air Supremacy (Modern jets). These are all mobile device games. The "109" represents a Corsair that one of my fellow squad members grandfather was in charge of maintaining in WW2. I bored in thin brass pipe to represent 20 MM cannons. I either lose or break off the plastic antennas, so I replaced them with pins. The bomb and harness in the middle is off scrap P-40 model.

The "SC" and "109's" are dry transfer decals which are completely unforgiving and a pain in the a$$ to put on.

c1-46.jpg
C2-46.jpg
c3-46.jpg
c4-46.jpg
c5-46.jpg
c6-46.jpg
c9-46.jpg
c12-46.jpg
c13-46.jpg

Tom

Not too bad Tom. Cannons are a touch over scale, but good thinking. Watch you don't injure yourself on those 'pin' antenna masts - don't want you going down with some obscure infection !

With Terry, you've done a good job again Tom, and I love how you're improvisng mods already - you'll be scratchbuilding cockpits in no time!

Are you going to paint the canopy frames, btw?

I agree with Evan and Terry. Not too bad at all. :thumbright:
A small note for future projects though ... please pay more attention to a model geommetry. It is quite important for a final appearance of a model.

Also a tip for making antenna masts in order to avoid some obscure infection ... a such details can be made by stretching a piece of a sprue holding it over a candle flame for making the plastic soft. Then stretching .... in the way you can obtain not only thin plastic masts but a long thin thread for antenna wire.