How Do You Handle White?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Mr. Ed

Airman 1st Class
Oct 27, 2009
The underside of the F4F Wildcat I'm building is going to be a very light grey, really an off-white. I'm intimidated by this because the last time I painted white on a model - back when I was an armor modeler - the results were a disaster. The color defeated me. How should I go about painting and weathering this?

Whether brushing or spraying, don't try to get an even, smooth coverage in one go. Ensure the model is clean, and free from any staining from paint, glue etc, then apply one, thin coat, as smooth and as evenly as possible. Let this dry for at least 12 hours, and then repeat, both of these using matt paint. Again, once dry, apply two, or more, coats of gloss white, as before. Once dry, this can then be clear-coated in matt, semi-matt or whatever as/if required.
This is a way of applying those paints which are not easy, or don't cover to full opacity, such as white, yellow and red.
If spraying, then you can probably/possibly dispense with the gloss coat(s) as long as you ensure that the colour is built-up with thin, even coats, allowing each to dry thoroughly before applying the next.

Terry nailed it. The trick is to build up the white slowly. Thin even coats. If you are spraying with Acrylics however, the drying time is so quick that you can build up to full opacity in one sitting. Just keep the coats thin and even. Don't overspray and avoid runs in the paint.

I'll defer to others on brush painting white (or yellow for that matter either) - I could NEVER get it to cover the way I wanted. And the weathering as well.