MPM 1/48 Heinkel He-177 "Grief"

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

mandoman

Airman 1st Class
Jan 29, 2006
corn contry USA
I'm not sure if this is a legitimate review, as I'm no expert at model building, but I do have a few observations. This kit has taught me the meaning of "modeling". Difficult doesn't quite describe this kit. I don't believe I've come on a model kit, that wasn't an all resin kit, more designed NOT to fit together. It would be interesting to know if I'm the only one that has discovered this. I don't think there were any pieces of this kit that went together without a major amount of trimming, puttying, cutting, and just plain remaking the parts......except for the wheels. This model has been on my work bench for over a year, now, and even though I FINALLY got the wings, and landing gear mounted (and that was a real trick), it's still slightly lopsided. I suppose I could be a good part of the problem, as I'm not the smoothest model builder by any means. It's a puzzle to me, though, that two haves of one fuselage seem to be so unaligned, or the cockpit so obviously NOT meant to fit into the spot designated. Even after getting the cockpit into place, after much trimming, and aligning, when I went to put the two fuselage halves together, I had to cut the cockpit even more so the two parts would connect. Then, after all the aligning, and balancing, and checking, when I unstrapped the fuselage from gluing them together, the cockpit was no longer sitting level. It isn't off too bad, but it's unbalanced, and that is very irritating. I had so much difficulty putting the two halves together, or should I say prepping the two haves to go together, that I guess I shouldn't be surprised at the results, but I WAS surprised......and a bit pissed off. I'm leaving it as is, simply because I haven't got the heart to try separating the fuselage to fix it. Well, it's certainly an ongoing projec