Need help with new camera

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

ontos

Tech Sergeant
Mar 8, 2009
Riverside, California
Hey guys, my wife just got me a new DSLR, I was just wondering if anyone could help me with what size of telephoto lens would be good for those great aerial shots you guys take, and should I get any filters. I'm new at this DSLR stuff. I'm use to the point and shoots. A 18-55mm and 75-300mm came with it. Also 3 filters, UV Protector, 812 Warming Filter and a Circular Polarizer made by "Tiffen". I have a feeling the Tele lens will be too expensive, just need some pointers. Thanks

Wow ontos, congrats....sounds like you really scored there!

I use two different lenses at the airport, my 70-300 Sigma telephoto (for airborn shots), and my Pentax 18-55 lense (for static displays). Eric would be able to give you far better pointers as far as filters and settings, which depend on the environmentals, etc...but I normally leave my camera's shutter/aperature set on "Program Automatic" for basic shooting and manually focus. I'll change the settings if conditions dictate, of course.

Congrats again on your new camera!

Yeah, Eric would be the main guy for this. If I remember right he shoots with both an 18-200mm IS (Nikon) and a 50-500mm (Sigma). I use a Canon 55-250 IS which does the job well without being too expensive.

I personally though would recommend something with a max of between 200 and 300mm. Image stabilisation is something to think about although it won't add much to the photos if you already have a steady hand but it does add to the cost. A lot it will depend what brand of camera you have as to what range of lenses you can get and which one would be best for you. So a little more information would be welcome.