NEW LOACH KITS!

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Dave998

Airman
Sep 22, 2010
Wauconda, IL
At last, I just got my hands on two new Hughes 500 kits in 1/72. I'm so pleased with them, I decided to post a quick in-box preview...pics to follow ASAP. BTW, I'm a noob at this, so pardon any mistakes. The new kits are by PROFILINE, out of Prague, Czech Republic (surprise!), and they are available online at www.profiline.wbs.cz.

Subjects: Cat. No. 7010: Hughes 500D
Cat. No. 7011: Hughes 500E (variant with elongated "egg")
Packaging: Kits' contents in zip-loc plastic bags inside sturdy end-opening cardboard boxes with full-color artwork on all surfaces. Color scheme sideviews (8 and 9, respectively) on reverse sides.
Plastic: Fuselage and doors are molded in clear plastic, with seams where they will not harm clarity of windows (hooray!). Other parts are finely molded in tan plastic with minimal flash and delicate recessed panel lines. Full interior provided. Parts design will allow Profiline to issue NOTAR variants of the kit.
Options: 2- or 4-bladed tail rotor, tall or short landing skid struts, 2 different styles of vertical finlets. No PE, but sharply printed film instrument panel and console panel are provided.
Instructions: 8 pages with clear drawings and decal-placement diagrams; very nice.
Decals: WOW! Beautifully sharp, in perfect registry, with private owners, police, and military options for both kits (see packaging notes).
Overall impressions: Bravo to Stepan Stransky for a superlative job. These variants of the Loach have not previously been kitted in this scale (Italeri's is to an earlier standard), and they are very welcome additions to the helo kit world, IMHO.

A special hello to Night Fighter Nut: well, here goes nothing (maybe), since you showed interest, I am trying something I've never done before. Pix have been re-sized to 600x800, so let's see what happens!?!

Attachments