P-51D INSTRUMENT PANEL CRITIQUE

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

CONNOCHR

Airman
Dec 19, 2009
New York
JUST FINISHED A P-51D MUSTANG 1:1 SCALE INSTRUMENT PANEL USING WHATEVER PHOTOS AND INFORMATION I COULD FIND ON THE NET TO MAKE IT AS ORIGINAL AND AUTHENTIC AS POSSIBLE. JUST WANTED TO POST IT SO ANYONE THAT NOTICES AN INACCURACY CAN BE SO KIND AS TO LET ME KNOW SO I CAN ALTER THE PANEL. THANKS EVERYONE.

Attachments

• Img_2120.jpg
    Img_2120.jpg
    87.6 KB · Views: 769
  • Img_2121.jpg
    Img_2121.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 873
Last edited by a moderator:
Mate, looking good, I'm no expert on the P-51 so can't offer detailed comment. You have got the "look at me" lines, so that is great. Good to have yet another 1:1'er here!!

Are Phillips head screws correct? The only reason I ask is that I have them on the Spitfire but they are not correct...should be slot head.

Standard concerns with Radiation and WW2 instruments apply. Personally, I don't like the fact that my Dosimetre is pegged by the compass and TBG at 10 feet. But many say there is not a problem. Not sure if you were aware..that's why I mention it. Do some research if necessary (if not already done) to satisfy yourself. Oh, and pretty much everybody agrees...DON'T open the instruments and inhale Radium Paint dust....nasty stuff.

Re the size..get yourself Infranview (free download, search it on any engine) or something similar. You can then nominate the number of pixels etc that you want.

Last edited:
Looks good enough to me...to the point where I've saved the pic for reference for models! One thing though, can you type in lower case, it looks like you're shouting!