plastic sheets ?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

ellis995

Staff Sergeant
Mar 15, 2009
Easington Lane UK
Hi every one

I have a question, about plastic sheets.

1. What is it used for,

2. Also could it be used to fill the gaps on models.

As i have never used them before:oops: as i just build the models straight out of the box then paint them.

Hi Keith,

Answer to 1 - these plastic sheets are offered as sheets of different thicknesses.( 0.1-3mm for instance) You can use them for all additional and scratch built parts. I mean irons,stringers, cross-sections , instrument panels, etc....really used for various ones.Also it is possible to make whole main parts , a fuselage , wing halves etc...

Answer to 2 - yes it can.

Please look at my thread about the Fw190A6 Stumjager of Sturmstaffel1.

Hi Keith. Plastic sheet, often called plastic card in the UK, is simply that - sheets of card-like plastic, very often white in colour, and available in various thicknesses, or gauges, up to about 2mm, which is thick enough to build houses with!
Most modellers will use the thinner varieties, some roughly the thickness of copier paper, another more or less the same as the card found on good quality greetings cards, and some more like a stiff mounting card.
It's used for virtually any application in modelling you can think of, from scratch-building, for example, floors and bulkheads in aircraft models, making boxes or 'boxing-in' wheel wells and gun bays to filling cut-out areas, It can be easily cut or scored, and is therefore useful for cutting into small strips to fill or bridge gaps, although strips are normally used for this work. Plastic strip is just that, the same gauges of plastic, cut to mvarious width strips, normally about 10 to 12 inches long.