Prop Pitch Problems

Discussion in 'IL-2 Sturmovik Pilot's Lounge' started by Auravir, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. Auravir

    Auravir Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    On the wrong side of Canada
    One day I found that my prop pitch would not work at all. It was not just my joystick. I tried assigning it to buttons on my keyboard, and it still would not work. No matter what I try, it will not cooperate. Does anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  2. ONE_HELLCAT

    ONE_HELLCAT Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Ventura County
    Some aircraft don't feature prop pitch like the FW-190. But if it's on an aircraft you usually fly without a problem, which is what I assume the case is, then I don't know what to say except to double check your realism settings.
     
  3. beaupower32

    beaupower32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancaster, California
    Almost all aircraft have prop pitch. The Fw 190, bf 109, p-51, tempest, and so on all have it. The german planes have a auto prop pitch you can turn on and off. Once off you can control the prop pitch like you want it. When I fly the 109, I cruz with prop pitch on, but in combat its off. Its a little bit more work keeping a eye on the prop pitch, but i get more speed that way. Another thing could be that u have it set up on simple engine settings. You will have to have it on complex engine management to get the prop pitch controls to work. hope this helps.
     
  4. Auravir

    Auravir Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    On the wrong side of Canada
    Ok, I'll go try this now. Thanks
     
  5. Soundbreaker Welch?

    Soundbreaker Welch? Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,900
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Still a student
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    I think some of the Spitfires don't have it, or some P-40's.
     
  6. Auravir

    Auravir Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    On the wrong side of Canada
    Alright, new problem. It was working for a while (thanks to beaupower's help), but now it is stuck at 64%. If I try to change it, it will occasionally flicker to 69% for a split second and then go back to 64%. Has anyone else had this problem?

    Thanks
     
  7. mkloby

    mkloby Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    USMC - Capt - 7532
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    Can't you just leave the rpm's set at a constant and the pitch adjusts to maintain that constant speed?
     
  8. Auravir

    Auravir Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    On the wrong side of Canada
    ok I fixed it. I had to reset all of the prop pitch controls. I'm not sure what happened to it in the first place. Before, if I turned the autopilot off, it would go back to 64.
     
  9. beaupower32

    beaupower32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancaster, California
    Try recalibrating your joy stick and see if that works.
     
Loading...

Share This Page