Radar questions

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

wuzak

Captain
Jun 5, 2011
Hobart Tasmania
My (limited) understanding of today's fighter radars is that they operate on the X-band frequency. Thus the stealth designs have evolved to combat that frequency band.

But can radars receive and process signals from outside their nominal frequency range? Can they receive L-band transmissions, for instance?

Any system is restricted to the things that they are designed to do. So if the system is supposed to opperate on a certain frequency, that is where it is.
A.M. radio will not pick up F.M. and vice versa.
I was an electronics tech in a past life, and if you would like a more detailed explanation, P.M. me.

Supposedly, first generation stealth (e.g., SR-71/F-117) is countered with a networked radar system wherein an emitter RF is received by multiple known location receivers (must be very precise measurements and dynamically updated). Processors then compute time reflections to triangulate location stealth airframe. More modern stealth is based upon not just reflection but absorption.

Any system is restricted to the things that they are designed to do. So if the system is supposed to opperate on a certain frequency, that is where it is.
A.M. radio will not pick up F.M. and vice versa.
I was an electronics tech in a past life, and if you would like a more detailed explanation, P.M. me.

Ok, so an X-band radar set will only receive X-band radar signals, no matter the source? Similarly for other bands.

Supposedly, first generation stealth (e.g., SR-71/F-117) is countered with a networked radar system wherein an emitter RF is received by multiple known location receivers (must be very precise measurements and dynamically updated). Processors then compute time reflections to triangulate location stealth airframe. More modern stealth is based upon not just reflection but absorption.