Top Speeds....

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Coors9

Senior Airman
Jan 24, 2008
St.john's Newfoundland
Hello all, I was wondering if anyone knew of a sight that posts top speeds of the 14, 15, 16, 18, and the super 18. Something that looks or is official. This guy I work with says the Tomcat tops out faster than the Eagle (NOT) and the Super Hornet goes .....are you ready.....Mach 3.:shock: Mean or not, i'd like to rub it in his face.:)

Hello all, I was wondering if anyone knew of a sight that posts top speeds of the 14, 15, 16, 18, and the super 18. Something that looks or is official. This guy I work with says the Tomcat tops out faster than the Eagle (NOT) and the Super Hornet goes .....are you ready.....Mach 3.:shock: Mean or not, i'd like to rub it in his face.:)

Coors

I am not an expert but the Lockheed SR-71 Blackbird did mach 3.2+ and concorde cruised mach 2, look at those two airplanes and then look at a super hornet. I am sure it is a great aeroplane but "mach 3" I dont think so. Just imagine if it could do mach 3 off a carrier and having to perform combat manouvers how fast it would be if it was just designed for max speed?

There are many accounts of the SR-71 doing M3.6+ in operational missions. I wish I had my AvWeek quotes of Blackbird pilots where they not they pushed that envelope fairly often. I specifically recall a Nicaragua mission where they did exactly that.

MiG-25 doesn't look like it could do Mach 3 either but the truth is a different matter. Looks don't tell the whole story.

Kris

and many of those accounts indicate that the MiG also destroyed its engines and was subsequently grounded. I recall reading specifically about a MiG-25 flight over Isreal from Syria that landed in Egypt prematurely.