Yellow Zinc Oxide

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

prem895

Staff Sergeant
Oct 7, 2012
Toronto/Beijing
It seems as if Testors yzc #1184 is the only one on the market. I am about to run out,and was wondering if I mix Hu99 lemon yellow with a few drops at a time of MM gzc will I get the same colour. I would be using the 7ml bottle that the Testor yzo came in.

Last edited:
I believe you mean zinc chromate. I have no experience mixing humbrol colours. Model Master makes yellow zinc chromate but of course they are the same as Testors.

I don't know why I said oxide. I meant chromate. I have looked for MM yzc,but I can not see it listed. Do you know the number.

I've never bought any - always mixed my own to suit whatever tone of ZC is required.
Just a mix of yellow and green, proportions dependent on the tone needed and, if required, some silver, added from an almost dry brush, to give the metallic effect sometimes seen on 'thin' ZC.
Another way to achieve the latter is to lay down a base coat of silver, then a thin coat of the mixed ZC. When dry, the metallic particles in the silver will have migrated into the 'solid' colour, giving the ZC effect. You'd need to experiment a bit to obtain the desired result, but, like most colours, unless a definite, specific shade, why buy them, when they can be mixed from the primaries and basic 'solid' colours?

I think it only comes in Acrylic.

model-master-acrylic-yellow-zinc-chromate.jpg

I've never bought any - always mixed my own to suit whatever tone of ZC is required.
Just a mix of yellow and green, proportions dependent on the tone needed and, if required, some silver, added from an almost dry brush, to give the metallic effect sometimes seen on 'thin' ZC.