Can anyone explain this to me ?

Discussion in 'OFF-Topic / Misc.' started by Maestro, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. Maestro

    Maestro Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Beaupré, Province of Québec, Canada
    Greetings ladies and gentlemen.

    I just completed my website building, but when I verified it with Mozila Firefox I had a bad surprise.

    I built my website using Microsoft FrontPage and, when I use Internet Explorer, my website looks great ! (See first screenshot.)

    But when I use Firefox, everything is messed up... (See second screenshot.) Anyone knows what I'm doing wrong ?

    I was hoping to put up my website tonight, but looks like I'll have to wait... :(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. k9kiwi

    k9kiwi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Self Employed
    Location:
    Kiwi Land
    Maestro.

    send me a PM and I will give you an email address to send the html and images to in a zip file.

    Front page is a piece of garbage I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy.

    I will look the code over, straighten it out, and give you some tips. Your shout when we meet.
     
  3. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    nOTHING IS MESSED Up, just the main title text is pushed a bit down... Kiwi is right, FP is a ****, try some other program. nice website by the way, Maestro! 8)
     
  4. Clave

    Clave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer of sorts
    Location:
    Deep in suburban Surrey
    FrontPage is what's wrong...
     
  5. loomaluftwaffe

    loomaluftwaffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    try learning CSS or html, all you need is notepad
     
  6. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    It's a formatting issue. FrontPage and MS IE work well together because they are both Microsoft products. It was a good idea to check in both browsers, because as you see, not everything is identical. Looks like you may need a couple of <br> commands, but I am not sure what the FP extensions are that give you the formatting.
     
  7. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    Well if he sets the <br> tags, then it would be disorted in IE... ;)

    Maestro, screw FP and do something other. Looma's right that the HTML isn't a big deal, you just make your own graphics and then write tags to make them work. 8)
     
  8. Maestro

    Maestro Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Beaupré, Province of Québec, Canada
    Thanks.

    K9kiwi made a .html page for me to use as a template. Now it looks great ! I just still need a few copy and paste here and there and I'll be ready for the "Grand Opening". If everything goes well, it should be in a few hours.
     
  9. k9kiwi

    k9kiwi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Self Employed
    Location:
    Kiwi Land
    No problems Maestro.

    When I need someone to write my book, I will give you a call. :p
     
  10. Maestro

    Maestro Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Beaupré, Province of Québec, Canada
    Yes ! It's finally done ! My site is finally up and running ! Here is my address :

    http://yantremblay.infinites.net/

    ***Do not put the "www." after the "http://" or you could get an error message.***
     
  11. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
Loading...

Share This Page