Compressor

Discussion in 'Model Kit Reviews' started by Catch22, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. Catch22

    Catch22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9,562
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Home Page:
  2. B-17engineer

    B-17engineer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14,953
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    model builder
    Location:
    Revis Island.
    What kind of airbrush do you have?

    I have a Passche something or other (Will check when I get home) it's pretty much the same only 35 dollars cheaper.
     
  3. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    LMAO Catch, I just spent several hours researching and buying a new compressor for myself, as my old one, the same one u posted up above, sh!t the bed....

    After looking and reading different reviews and products, I went the smart way....

    One that has a tank attached:
    [​IMG]
    The Airbrush Depot TC-20T... $145 bucks... Spend alittle bit more and get aproduct that'll last longer and work better than one without a tank...
    Amazon.com: NEW Quiet 1/5 hp AIRBRUSH TANK COMPRESSOR-FREE AIR HOSE: Kitchen Dining

    Here's the pdf file for it:
    http://www.tcpglobal.com/protanningsystems/images/TC20Manual.pdf

    Look around on Amazon, as there were a couple similar if not the same as urs for less than ebay can offer....

    TCP Global was impossible to beat on prices Cory....
     
  4. Catch22

    Catch22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9,562
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Home Page:
    Hahaha Dan, well that solves that then.

    The issue is the one I have with a tank is apparently the problem, because the tank is too big on it, or so I'm told. It has TOO MUCH pressure, and doesn't allow me to get fine lines. No matter how hard I try, I just can't get anything remotely fine, and I don't think it's the airbrush. Thanks Dan, I'll have a look.

    Harry, it's a Paasche. I don't recall the exact name of it though.
     
  5. rochie

    rochie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    14,639
    Likes Received:
    426
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Head chef
    Location:
    billingham nr middlesbrough uk
    snap Cory i'm ordering my first compressor and airbrush on my next days off, cant show what i'm ordering as i'm at work and the office computer wont let me on the modelhobbies website but am getting a complete set of compressor, airbrush with a braided hose for £93 plus delivery.
    had Terry check it out for me and he reckons its a good deal
     
  6. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    This is what I'm using with my Iwata HP-CS airbrush, a Smart Jet Pro. Got it for 50 of the Queens best folding in 2008, new!Cost £200+ I see on ebay!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Cory, it aint gonna be that the tank is too big, its that ur pressure regulator, if u even have one, is either faulty or doesnt exist...

    The tank stores the air, the regulator u set for 15-20 psi and its a done deal....
     
  8. Florence

    Florence Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I upgraded from a tankless compressor to one which has a tank. Without the tank I couldn't mantain a consistent pressure. Much easier with a tank full of air and a regulator to control the psi. Maybe you just need a regulator?
     
  9. Catch22

    Catch22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9,562
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Home Page:
    Hmm, I have a regulator, but maybe it's no good. I'll bring it in tomorrow or something and take a picture of it.
     
  10. Wurger

    Wurger Siggy Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47,678
    Likes Received:
    1,500
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A retired military Navigator/ATC, FIS controller
    Location:
    Poland
    The compressor in the Cory's post is similar to my one.It is equipped with the PSI regulator and the moisture trap.
     
  11. N4521U

    N4521U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    reduced to all around slobbing
    Location:
    Miranda, NSW
    Catch, if someone is letting you think the tank is Too Big, they are blowing smoke straight up your bum!!!!!!!!!! You could have a 100 HP compressor on a tank as big as a house and still run an airbrush on it!!!!!!! You need to make sure you have a good pressure regulator which will go down to maybe 10 PSI, and a bloody water trap! PERIOD. I have been using a Paasche VSL for years. I was a signwriter for 16 years and used this for shading, and then used it for models about 10 years ago and will be using it again. There are different size tips for any air brush, from the finest hairline to lines as wide as a pencil. And make sure the needle an the oriface are ALWAYS clean. On the internet see if you can find accessories for yours, see if you can find a very fine tip set. The problem with most tankless compressors, the little buggers, is they have a diaphram pump, which pulses, never allowing a smooth air flow, and they run all the time. Th reason you WANT a tank is to store lots of pressure to bleed off from. This is what allows a constant smooth air flow at low pressures. I hope this clears up what your solutions may be. Go to a compressor dealer to find out the straight story mate. cheers, and good luck, Bill
     
  12. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,697
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Bill is spot on. Although the tankless compressors are just fine for most modelling jobs, (I have one, and, like most of us, it's used for relatively short periods.) a compressor with a tank will not affect the running of an airbrush, and are designed for prolonged use, as in an art studio, body shop etc. I used to have access to an industrial compressor, the tank on which was as big as a fuel drum, and had no problem whatsoever running the 'brush. It's just a case of setting the regulator to the desired pressure which, although it may not be 100% accurate, will be within a pound or so, and good enough.
    Given that the regulator on your compressor is working, then you need to check the nozzle/jet, as Bill suggested, to ensure that it is clean and free from obstruction, and check the specification of the jet, to ascertain it's line capability. The jet size will give you an idea, anything from .25 or smaller will give fine line work without problem, even without a pressure regulator.
    Whoever told you the tank is too big is talking through his venturi !!
     
  13. Catch22

    Catch22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9,562
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Home Page:
    :lol: Well thanks gents! Turns out my pressure regulator DOES work, it just doesn't display properly. I also do not have a water trap, so I should probably invest in one, though I haven't noticed any water coming out?
     
  14. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    Check everything and I'm sure that your compressor and airbrush will work just fine....
     
  15. dirkpitt289

    dirkpitt289 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Computer Guy
    Location:
    South Plainfield New Jersey
    I've had my compressor for about a year now and have never had a problem with water. That said the day it happens I'll be livid. Think of the trap as an insurance policy against water because the day you see water in the trap you'll be thankful for the investment
     
  16. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,697
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I agree with Dirk, although, with the relatively low spray time, and paint quantities used in the average session for modelling, it's unlikely that moisture will be an issue. But, for the cost of a trap, it's a worthwhile, inexpensive investment - just in case.
     
  17. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    I get water sputtering out every now and then, EXFU*KINTREMELY FRUSTRATING!!!!

    And I had a water trap installed....
     
  18. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,697
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I've told you not to spray on the beach!!
     
  19. B-17engineer

    B-17engineer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14,953
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    model builder
    Location:
    Revis Island.
Loading...

Share This Page