Dirk's 1/72 Frankin Defiant

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

dirkpitt289

Master Sergeant
Jul 16, 2009
South Plainfield New Jersey
This is my first attempt at this and I have no clue how its going to turn out but I gotta give it a try. No resin parts here. I'm going to do it old school and graft the nose from another kit. In this case a Spitfire Vb.

Airfix The Kit

IMG_2379.jpg

As you all know this kit is pretty old and this one shows it. There isn't a lot of flash but the details such as the rudder have softened and lost some detail. There is also some warping of the parts.

IMG_2382.jpg

The Donor kit

IMG_2380.jpg

The parts I will be using from the Spitfire will be the three pieces make up the nose

IMG_2381-1.jpg

As you know there is no cockpit but I want to make this in flight with the aerials deployed so I will have to scratch something together.

Frankin.jpg

DoctorBefore.jpg

Pre-op

IMG_2384.jpg

Post-op

IMG_2385.jpg

While the patient was still on the table we made a few cuts to the back end as well.

IMG_2387.jpg

Here's a comparison of the two nose sections

IMG_2390.jpg

Nose on (Scuse the pun)

IMG_2389.jpg

Seeing how the remaining pieces fit together

IMG_2391.jpg

I will need to do a little more work before i will be able to get the new nose to fit. For starters I will need to thin down the fuselage.

Before

IMG_2388.jpg

After

IMG_2392.jpg

DoctorAfter.jpg

Thanks for looking

A year or so ago I saw a profile of a Defiant in Clave's Fantasy Aircraft Full Series thread. It was done in Rebel Alliance colors and had R2D2 instead of a turret. I've had doing that in the back of my head ever since. I'll have to pick up the Airfix kit one of these days and get started on it. Should be fairly simple.

Good stuff Dirk. Didn't the article I sent suggest using a Hurricane nose? I can't remember, but it's probably nearer in shape than the Spit.